0151 448 2080
Order by phone - Mon-Fri: 9:00AM-6:00PM

Select CurrencyYour Basket 0 items | £ 0.00 Checkout

Can't wait to try? why not visit one of our 14 PMT House of Rock sister stores

Ex-Suede man wins top producer award

Published: Fri February 13, 2009  News Feed

Former Suede guitarist Bernard Butler was named Producer Of The Year at the inaugural Music Producers Guild Awards 2009 in London last night (February 12).

Bernard Butler

The awards confirms Bernard Butler as one of the top new music preducers in the UK. Butler, who has produced albums for Duffy, Black Kids, Tricky and 1990s, was presented his award by Duffy, and the prize also earns Butler the BRIT Award for Best Producer. The event, which took place at London's Cafe de Paris, saw Danger Mouse, Calvin Harris and Bloc Party producer Paul Epworth win awards.

Bernard Butler first achieved fame in 1992 as the guitarist with Suede, forging a songwriting partnership with Brett Anderson, at the time an instant phenomenon in UK pop music. He co-wrote and played guitars on every track until 1994, when he left Suede leaving behind the Mercury Music Prize winning debut "Suede", as well as the acclaimed follow-up "Dog Man Star" .

In 2009 Bernard will be co-writing and producing Duffy, Kate Jackson , Catherine A.D., and playing live alongside Bert Jansch.

The full list of winners at the Music Producers Guild Awards 2009

Producer of The Year - sponsored by the BPI: Bernard Butler
Nominees: Bernard Bulter; Brian Eno; Steve Mac

Recording Engineer of The Year – sponsored by Prism Sound: James Towler
Nominees: Haydn Bendall; James Towler; Markus Dravs

Best Mix Engineer – sponsored by Digidesign: Cenzo Townshend
Nominees: Andy Bradfield; Cenzo Townsend; Tom Elmhirst

Best Mastering Engineer – sponsored by SADiE: Ray Staff
Nominees: John Davis; Ray Staff; Tim Young

Best International Producer of the Year – sponsored by RAK Studios: Danger Mouse
Nominees: Danger Mouse; Mark Ronson; Robert John ‘Mutt’ Lange

Best Live Album of The Year (08) – sponsored by Shure: Girls Aloud – 'Tangled Up'
Nominees: David Gilmour - 'Live In Gdansk'; Girls Aloud - 'Tangled Up'; Nephu Huzzband - 'Live In London'

UK Album of The Year (08) – sponsored by Cream Recording Studios: Elbow – 'The Seldom Seen Kid'
Nominees: Coldplay - 'Viva La Vida Or Death And All His Friends'; Duffy – 'Rockferry'; Elbow - 'The Seldom Seen Kid'

UK Single of The Year (08) – sponsored by Discovering Arts: Elbow – 'One Day Like This'
Nominees: Duffy – 'Mercy'; Elbow – 'One Day Like This'; Radiohead – 'Nude'

The Joe Meek Award for Innovation In Production – sponsored by Music Producers Guild: Brian Eno
Nominees: Brian Eno; Bjork; Mark Ronson

Best Re-mixer – sponsored by CMU: Calvin Harris
Nominees: Calvin Harris; Dan Turner; Gareth Jones

Best Newcomer – sponsored by Deep Recording Studios: Paul Epworth
Nominees: Dan Hulme; Paul Epworth; Steve Booker

Best Studio – sponsored by TL Audio: British Grove Studios
Nominees: Abbey Road; AIR Lyndhurst; British Grove Studios

Unsung Hero – sponsored by Alchemea: Andy McBride
Nominees: Andy McBride; Crispin Murray; Xavier Stephenson

Music Producers Guild Special Recognition Award: Chris Blair

Visit the Bernard Butler artist page to find out which gear you can find at Dolphin!

Please select your country/region

Choose the region you are shopping from to view products in your currency.

We have temporarily suspended processing of EUR payments, all orders will be charged in GBP.

Please select your country/region

Choose the region you are shopping from to view products in your currency.